Javascript Menu by

Certification Renewal Policy

I.   All current certification certificates are valid for a three (3) year period from date of issue. The expiration date of all current certifications can be found on the certificate(s) and certification card(s).

II.   Options for Renewal. There are three options for renewal of IMSA certifications. Individuals may choose any one of the options. The renewal requirements must be completed prior to the expiration date of the individual’s current certification(s).

A.   Educational Units

  1. Technical/Vocational course work for minimum one (1) quarter or one (1) semester with a ‘C’ or higher passing grade. The course work must be directly related to the certification(s) being renewed.

  2. Continuing Education Units (CEU). The training must be directly related to the certification(s) being renewed.

  3. Technical Advancement Recognition Program (TARP). In order to use this option an individual must be a member in good standing of IMSA. Your Section Certification Chair or a TARP representative gathers and submits these earned points on your behalf, to the International Office for logging in a database. Individuals should also record these points on their personal logs.  The TARP points must be directly related to the certifications(s) being renewed.

  4. Renewal Hours by Personal Log (Members and/or Non-Members). Individuals must complete a personal log or diary of their continuing education by documenting training and/or certification(s) received. The training must be directly related to the certification(s) being renewed. For the training to be valid it must be signed by one of the following: the speaker of a session, moderator of a class, supervisor or your IMSA Section Certification Chair. Personal logs may be downloaded from the IMSA Web site.
  5. Combination of 2, 3 & 4 above. For example: A combination of CEUs and TARP points may qualify an individual for certification renewal.

All educational units must be completed within the three (3) years prior to the certification(s) expiration date(s). All training documentation is subject to audit by IMSA’s International Office.

Each IMSA certification has a defined number of required educational hours based on the level and type of certificate as follows:

Traffic Signals, Signs and Markings, Roadway Lighting, Fire Alarm, and Public Safety
Telecommunicator require a total of sixteen (16) hours of education. Work Zone Safety and
Flagging require a total of four (4) hours of education.

Sixteen hours is defined as 1.6 CEUs, or 64 TARP points or 16 renewal hours.
Four hours is defined as .4 CEUs or 16 TARP points or 4 renewal hours.

  • B.   Attending the Current Certification Course. This option requires the individual to attend the current 16-hour certification course without taking the exam. Individuals will be responsible for documenting their attendance in their Personal Log and shall have it signed by the moderator. BE SURE TO SIGN THE CLASS ROSTER AS IT WILL BE AUDITED. You may ONLY use this option within “one year” prior to the expiration date. Please note: Traffic Signal III and Signs & Marking III courses will only count as 8 hours of training (16-hours of training is needed to complete the renewal process for these Level III programs.)

    C.   Higher Certification Level. Achieving the next higher certification level in each specialty, will result in a new three year certification; therefore, renewal of your existing certification will not be necessary. For example: An individual with a current Traffic Signal Level I certification who passes the Traffic Signal Level II certification course will receive a new certification level which will be due for renewal three years from the date printed on the new certification.

III.   Documentation. It is the certificate holder’s responsibility to submit documentation to the IMSA International office for renewal utilizing “Educational Units” including TARP points and Personal Log/Diaries. All required documentation and the appropriate fees shall be sent in one mailing to IMSA prior to expiration date.

IV.   Renewal After Expiration. For individuals with an expiration date on their certificate(s), if the certification is not renewed by the expiration date, the certification will lapse. The lapsed certificate holder will have one (1) year after the expiration date to reinstate their certification by documenting sixteen (16) hours of training through IIA or IIB. If the certification is not reinstated within one (1) year after the expiration date, the individual must renew through the normal certification process by taking the current certification exam at the highest level previously attained and paying the regular certification exam fee. The renewal fees do not apply to this method of certification; only the regular certification exam fees will be due. Retake of prerequisites will not be required. IMSA will not recognize any IMSA certificate(s) without an expiration date.

     Renewal Fees. Please see the renewal fee schedule under the Certification Tab on the IMSA Web site.


© IMSA - International Municipal Signal Asssociation